Listen With(Out) Piano

Alexis Taylor announces Listen With(out) Piano, a companion album to his 2016 record Piano. Released March 3rd 2017 via Moshi Moshi, Listen With(out) Piano features new versions by artists including Papa M (David Pajo), Green Gartside (Scritti Politti), Spring Heel Jack, Beatrice Dillon, Brian DeGraw (Gang Gang Dance), which can be played on their own, or at the same time as the songs on Piano, to create a brand new listening experience.

Hear Green Gartside from Scritti Politti’s version of ‘Repair Man’ blended with Alexis Taylor’s original here. Or listen to Green Gartside’s version by itself, and have a go at syncing it up with the original yourself. You can watch Alexis demonstrate how Listen With(out) Piano works here.

The album features the work of eleven of Alexis’s favourite musicians, handpicked to create new tracks designed to work in response to the songs on Piano, the third solo album by the Hot Chip frontman. Though the record can be synched with the original Piano recordings by playing both albums on two devices simultaneously, the tracks on Listen With(out) Piano can be also be enjoyed as original songs on their own merits.

“My brief was both very wide open and very specific, and part of the pleasure for me, and now hopefully for the listeners, is to see how everyone responded so differently to the task,” Alexis explains. “The results are truly amazing, and here you have a new album that works both as a kind of electro-acoustic ambient companion piece to Piano, and as a series of musical clothes to be put onto the deliberately bare record I released.”

Piano, recorded at Hackney Road Studios by Shuta Shinoda, was released in June 2016 by Moshi Moshi. An intimate collection of songs comprised entirely of Alexis’s vocal and piano, the record was captured live to preserve each intricacy.

Since 2000, Hot Chip have released six studio albums, as well as a wealth EPs, stand-alone singles, compilation exclusives, remixes and covers. Including Piano, Alexis has released three albums and an EP under his own name, as well as three further albums of material performed with the semi-improvisational About Group. Additionally, Alexis has crafted side projects such as Booji Boy High and collaborated with the likes of Wiley, Peter Gabriel, Will Oldham, Fimber Bravo, Bernard Sumner, Robert Wyatt, Justus Köhncke, The Memory Band, James Yorkston and David Byrne among many others.


Listen With(out) Piano released March 3rd 2017 via Moshi Moshi. Available to pre-order now via Rough Trade.

Listen With(out) Piano tracklist

1. I’m Ready (Lung Dart)
2. So Much Further to Go (Mammalien)
3. Crying in the Chapel (Beatrice Dillon)
4. Without Your Name (Susumu Mukai)
5. In The Light of the Room (Betsy Taylor)
6. Lonely Vagabond (Rupert Clervaux)
7. Repair Man (Green Gartside)
8. Don’t Make My Brown Eyes Blue (Spring Heel Jack)
9. I Never Lock That Door (Jennifer Herrema)
10. Just For A Little While (Papa M)
11. Don’t Worry (Brian Degraw)

Alexis has announced a series of live shows across the country in February and March.

February 22nd – London, Cafe Oto w/ Charles Hayward & Pat Thomas
March 12th – Brighton, Komedia
March 19th – Bexhill, De La Warr Pavilion
March 21st – Bristol, Colston Hall – The Lantern
March 22nd – Liverpool, Philharmonic Hall – Music Room
March 23rd – Manchester, St Michael’s Church
March 24th – Gateshead, The Sage

Ticket links for all live shows here.